By Peregrine

Effective 15 July 2015 nationals of 41 countries may enter the Philippines with a passport or official travel document valid for less than six months from the date of arrival.

The usual passport validity required for entry to the Philippines is at least six months from the date of arrival.

Which Nationalities are Affected?
Nationals of the following countries may now enter the Philippines with passports of less than six months validity:

Angola, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Benin, Brazil, Cambodia,, Canada, Chile, Cyprus, Ecuador, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Kuwait, Laos, Mexico, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Portugal, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, USA, Venezuela.

These are countries whose nationals are allowed entry to the Philippines without a visa for a stay not exceeding 30 days, and which also have an embassy or consulate located in the Philippines which is authorized to renew or extend the validity of passports or official travel documents.

The Bureau of Immigration National Operations Center (BINOC) will regularly update the list by confirming with all embassies and consulates located in the Philippines on their authority to renew or extend passports.

Action Items

  • Ensure that your foreign national employees or assignees travelling to the Philippines have sufficient validity remaining on their passport or other travel document;
  • Note that nationals of the above countries may enter the Philippines with less than six months passport validity, provided there exists no other ground to deny them entry under existing laws, rules and regulations.